Otaku Quirks: Spend, Spend, Spend, Spend, etc.

Welcome to another week of Otaku Quirks! I’ve been really busy lately, but like that’s any excuse!

“Ah, what a wonderful day! Oh, hey they just released that one series on Blu-Ray. The new volume of this one manga series just got released! Oh, look my waifu on a body pillow… Wait, where the Hell did my money go?”

Otaku Quirk #4: Spend, Spend, Spend, Spend, etc.

spend-money

We Otakus are victims of a sneaky government plot that plans to siphon all our money away and make us poor. They use the weapons known as marketing and advertising and disguise them with moe and desu! So many have fallen towards this scheme and unfortunately… I am one of them…

conspiracy
(It’s a conspiracy BABY!!!)

Okay, so maybe it’s not a conspiracy, but do you know how much money I’ve spent on this hobby? I’ wouldn’t be kidding if I said if I spent thousands. If you’re an Otaku you’ll love quite a few series. To support your favorite series, you’ll buy whatever you can just to feel closer to them. Buy their DVDs, manga, light novels, games, body pillows, and swimsuits. You may be thinking: “Did this guy just say swimsuits?”. Yeah, I’m not kidding. I went to Anime Expo and saw this Hideyoshi swimsuit for sale at the Exhibitor’s Hall.

hideyoshi
(“BUY MY SWIMSUIT!!! BTW, I’m also a dude.”)

Sure we may love our series and buy their DVDs and books, but sometimes we take it up a notch. We buy our stuff directly from Japan. Imports aren’t really strangers with Otakus. The North American market sometimes does not provide for our every needs. You want that Super Limited-Edition box set of Onii-can Picnic Desu Desu that comes with the Director’s Cut of episode 104, Cast Commentary from the voice actors of the Loli Sisters 13, and that figure of Desu-chan in a Robot Maid cosplay? The land of the free ain’t gonna provide. Good thing we have the internet! Too bad we have to fork over $700 though…

loli in bag
(I’m throwing my money at the screen, but nothing happens!)

Now this habit doesn’t really apply to a portion of the Otaku society. Sometimes people are satisfied with just watching the series, and that’s it. They’ll watch it on some streaming site or possibly download it onto their computer. The best thing they’ll ever do is at least by a key chain. You know what I say to those kinds of people?!… Good job, you have your life in order. Now lend me some money so I can buy this anime box set.

So back to me. I have spent sooooooo much money and have bought sooooooo much stuff that I need another room just to hold them. Not to brag (Oh who am I kidding. Yes I am) but here’s a collection of almost everything I have. Anime, manga, wall scrolls, autographed items, and wall scrolls.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You may be asking if I’ve ever regretted buying all that stuff…Mmmmm…. A little bit, but not entirely. Well let’s not forget my monthly subscription to Crunchyroll and those plane rides to out-of-state conventions. Quite a hefty fee I assure you. Even now, I’m trying to pre-order the Sword Art Online Part 1 Blu-Ray Box Set and Fate/Zero Season 1 Limited Edition Blu-Ray Set. Almost $250 total.

Well if anything, I take consolation that I’m not the worst out there. I see some people post it up on /a/ with their rooms filled to brim with merchandise. I’m not one for buying figures and body pillows at least, but kudos to those who buy them.

If you’re wondering where I buy my stuff, here’s a list:

  • Amazon (including Amazon.jp)
  • Rightstuf: http://rightstuf.com/
  • Ebay
  • AmiAmi for Japanese Imports (they have an English interface which helps a lot): http://amiami.com/
  • CD Japan: cdjapan.co.jp/
  • Anime Conventions (Dealers rooms and Exhibitor Halls)

If I ever have children in the future, I know I won’t be getting them into anime. Cuz let’s be honest. Drugs would be cheaper.

url(Heaven? Or Hell? Desu)

That’s it for this week’s Quirk! Next week I’ll be going over… Well I’ll go with it as I go!

3 thoughts on “Otaku Quirks: Spend, Spend, Spend, Spend, etc.

  1. I never bought much until recently after I attend my first convention. After I got my hands on some anime merchandise, I felt that I had to buy more. I’m one of the many people who buy figures, and collecting them comes at a hefty price ;-;

    • Yeah, probably not buying figures is the only thing keeping money in my bank account. I just went crazy at Anime Expo and blew away everything I had TT_TT…BUT IT WAS WORTH

Leave a comment