Sword Art Online: Infinity Moment, Limited Edition [Review]

It’s been almost 3 months since the game was released, so this review is really overdue.

Sword Art Online: Infinity Moment is the first video game to be adapted from the hit light novel/anime series, Sword Art Online.
In the series, thousands of players are trapped within the deadly world of the online game, Sword Art Online. Kirito, along with many other players, must clear all the floors (100 floors) of the flying castle, Aincrad.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


SAO: Infinity Moment’s story begins with the climax of the first part of Season 1 of the anime. Kirito and the rest of the clearing party has just defeated the Floor’s boss, but soon afterwards found out that the leader of the Knights of True Blood, Heathcliff, was none other than Kayaba Akihiko, the creator of Sword Art Online.
From there, the game proceeds with a tutorial of Kirito fighting Heathcliffe.

So far the story follows the light novel and anime very closely. After Kirito used the skill <Eclipse>, it’s known by fans that Heathcliff took advantage of the pause after the use of a Sword Skill, to cut down Kirito (taking Asuna instead). HOWEVER, this is where the game starts to deviate from the original series. Right when Heathcliffe is about to cut Kirito down, a bug occurs within the game and Heathcliff freezes for a second (guess the curse of lagging still hasn’t been lifted in the future). Kirito takes advantage of the <LAG> and defeats Heathcliff.


Kirito: “I’ll never rule the universe with you…”
Heathcliff: “Leia, is that you?”

Kirito finally defeated the last boss in the game! Asuna and everybody else are still alive! Time to go home now, right?!
WRONG Even though the players were promised to go home if after Kirito defeated Heathecliff, nothing happened. The players are still within the game, and there’s still no way to log out. Unsure on how to deal with this predicament, everybody just decides to move on to the next floor, FLOOR 76 <ARC SOPHIA>.


Back in mid-2012, SAO: Infinity Moment was announced and it was said to have a Limited Edition First Press release. The series was very popular back when the anime was running, and pre-order copies of the game quickly sold out at many online retailers. The best you could do tofind a copy was pay 2 or 3 times the regular price.
For some reason, I happened to reserve a copy of my own. As soon as I heard about the First Press release I just impulse shopped my way to AmiAmi (online Otaku goods retailer) and reserved a copy of the First Press Release Limited Edition Set, regardless of whether I’d buy it or not. Turns out I made a pretty good decision back then.

The First Press Release Limited Edition includes the following:

  • Special Edition box, with cover illustration by abec, the light novel illustrator.
  • 3-sided disc case, containing 3 CDs
  • SAO: Inifnity Moment Soundtrack
  • [2] Special Contents DVDs
  • 43 page booklet about the world of Sword Art Online, including Infinity Moment
  • The game itself (PSSSssshh! You think I bought this for the game?! Namco, PLZ!)

Disc 1 of the Special Contents DVD contains:

  • Introduction to SAO: Infinity Moment
  • Cast Commentary with the Female Cast (and Kirito’s VA)
    fem cast[Left to Right: Matsuoka Yoshitsugu (Kirito), Tomatsu Haruka (Asuna), Taketatsu Ayana (Leafa), Ito Kanae (Yui), Takagaki Ayahi (Lisbeth), Hidaka Rina (Silica)]
    Part 1: Q&A with the female cast
    Part 2: Re-dub of different scenes of the game. The fem. cast play Kirito and Matsuoka plays the female roles. (I actually LMAO when I watched this. 10/10, would watch 100 times more. I’ll try to upload clips in the future)
    PVs (Preview videos/trailers) of the game

Disc 2 of the Special Contents DVDs contains:
the Date with Asuna Interactive CG movie. (Made my heart go *kyuun kyuun* if you know what I mean).

atsuna“Hey guys meet my wife, A(TSUN)a”…Get it?

The 3rd disc in the set contains the Video Game Sountrack, which contains 20 songs.

The 43 page booklet contains an intro to SAO, “Secret Gallery” Illustrations, Character Bios, the Making of Infinity Moment, fanart, and Q&As with the cast.

The normal version of the game is included in the set, and it came with a code that gives out school swimsuits for the female characters to wear (WOOOT!).

That covers my review of the Limited Edition First Press Release. If you want to know more about the gameplay, I suggest you go to some other blog!
Thanks for reading \(>3<)/! Next time, I’ll be reviewing the Limited Edition Bluray Set for Sword Art Online, Part 1.


Sword Art Online is a series written by light novel author, Reki Kawahara. The series was published back in 2009, by Dengeki Bunko. An anime adaptation of the series premiered on July 7, 2012, and ended its run on December 22, 2012. Aniplex USA has licensed the series and will release the series in 4 parts. Toonami will also be showing the series on their late-night block starting on August 2013.
The series is available to watch online on Crunchyroll and Hulu.